Friday, October 2, 2009

Hey Ocean!

Ashleigh Ball of Vancouver's Hey Ocean! has got one of the sweetest voices I've ever heard. In my mind she's one of those girls who could say anything, doesn't matter what, and it would immediately cheer you up on a bad day. So take that voice and pin it to a 15 track album that's got the feel of a trendy jazz club on the side of a beach on a summer afternoon and you've got a hell of a feel-good album. Hey Ocean!'s It's Easier To Be Somebody Else is exactly that. Vocals with a bit of a swagger, swanky guitars, and horns with a flair.

In addition to having a truly unique sound, Hey Ocean! is also a band that has a knack for fantastic music videos, which is rare nowadays. For example:

It's Easier To Be Somebody Else Track List

1. Too Soon
2. Alright
3. A Song About California (mp3) (amazon) (iTunes)
4. Alleyways
5. Liar
6. Jimmy Switch (instrumental)
7. Vagabond feat. Shad K.
8. Fish
9. Fifteen Words
10. Greeko
11. Humaita
12. Moving On
13. Terribly Stable
14. My Friends
15. Mama Cries

They've toured the album across Canada three times in 2008, and now they're doing it again. I suppose it's a huge encouragement to do more live shows when Gene Simmons flies out specifically to see your show with great interest in signing you to his label. Too bad for him. It's Easier To Be Somebody Else was actually released on Pop Machine. That's Hey Ocean!'s self-owned label. Impressive!

Hey Ocean! will be in Toronto on October the 17th at the Rivoli. Head on down for what's sure to be a rip-roaring good time.

No comments: